> Lucky Strike
> Toyota Atlantic
> Trans-AM

Since its debut as the Trans-American Sedan Championship in 1966, the Motorock Trans-Am Series made the likes of Mark Donohue, Sam Posey, Peter Gregg, Scott Pruett, David Hobbs, Tommy Ken dall and countless others into legends.

This season, there are many new things on the horizon. And, although it's America 's longest continuously running sports car championship, 2004 will mark a milestone in its long and storied history.

The Trans-Am Series will again be sanctioned by SCCA Pro Racing for 2004, while Champ Car will oversee the operation of the Series. The agreements continue a relationship between Trans-Am and SCCA dating back to 1966. SCCA will continue its long-standing tradition of supplying the nation's premiere corner workers and race-weekend staff. In addition, the Trans-Am Series will be integrated into Champ Car, a racing organization known for its world-renowned safety team, its top-notch technology department, as well as its strengths in administration, insurance, public relations and marketing.

Of the 10 races scheduled this year, the Trans-Am Series plans to compete seven times with the Bridgestone Presents The Champ Car World Series Powered by Ford. Trans-Am will be the featured series at two races-Trois-Rivières and Puerto Rico -and will return to Infineon Raceway on its ever-popular NASCAR weekend.

Drivers returning this season include Trans-Am's only four-time champion Tommy Ken dall. Ken dall will attempt to surpass the win record held by late Trans-Am legend Mark Donohue. Ken dall, who has 26 career victories in Trans-Am competition, needs just four more wins to eclipse Donohue's mark.

2003 Rookie of the Year Jorge Diaz, Jr. will return this season, while Max Lagod has picked up his effort this year to include a full schedule. 2002 titleholder Boris Said is also planning a part-time effort, as does 2003 championship runner-up Johnny Miller.

With new partnerships, returning champions, new leadership, and a tradition of excellence, the Trans-Am Series will continue this year, always mindful of its past, but driving toward a vibrant future.


The Motorock Trans-Am Series features closed-fendered, production-based, V-8-powered sports cars, competing on permanent road courses, and temporary street and airport circuits throughout North America. The Trans-Am Series is America 's oldest continuously running road racing series and celebrates its 39th anniversary in 2004.

The Trans-Am Series showcases some of North America's top road racers, including Boris Said, Tommy Ken dall, Johnny Miller, Jorge Diaz, Jr., Max Lagod, Paul Gentilozzi, Tomy Drissi, John Baucom, Randy Ruhlman, Bob Ruman, and Simon Gregg.

The Trans-Am Series races on three types of tracks-permanent road courses, temporary street courses and airport courses. Track lengths vary from just under two miles to just over four miles.

Motorock, with its "Stars, Cars and Guitars" concept, seeks to bring concerts and other ambient programming to Trans-Am racing weekends. Motorock became the Trans-Am Series' title sponsor late in 2003.The Trans-Am Series competes predominantly with the Champ Car World Series and Toyota Atlantic. Trans-Am will also race with the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series at Infineon Raceway for the second-straight year.

Chevrolet Corvette, Ford Mustang and Jaguar XKR are predominant makes and models, but the Dodge Viper, Panoz Esperante, Qvale Mangusta and Chevrolet Camaro are also eligible for competition. Convertibles are not allowed.

Production sports cars produced in quantities of at least 1,000 units per one year and approved by SCCA Pro Racing.

Schedule | Circuit Map | Tickets | News | Local Info | Hospitality
About Us | Site Map | Corporate Opportunities | Volunteers | Merchandise